Popovers for breakfast

Two posts in two days! I am breaking a personal record here. I am determined to get back on time with the rest of the TWD group. David makes fun of me and says that I am a bad student:).  So, here is my story of the final recipe for this month.

Today, I got up at 8 and took myself to my mom’s kitchen to bake popovers, slightly salty, puffy little pastries. Until today, I had not tried a popover and  was  excited to give this recipe a shot.  I am lucky that all the ingredients for the recipe were very easy to find here in Dikili. Milk, eggs, salt and butter were all I needed.  Blending all the ingredients in the food processor, I prepared a very liquid batter. I poured the batter in small muffin tins and baked them as suggested in the recipe. However,  since we have a small oven that gets hot and cooks very quickly, I took the popovers out of the oven almost 15 minutes early. From the glass door of the oven, I could see the way popovers puffed and rose  as they were baking.  They  puffed up very quickly, kind of like souffle,  and looked absolutely adorable. When I took them out of the oven, they sank just a tiny bit.

We had the popovers at breakfast before heading to the beach for a swim. I had mine with lor cheese (mentioned in my previous post)  and mom’s home made plum jam, a killer combination. To me, these popovers taste kind of  like crepes. My parents, David and I all enjoyed them for breakfast. However,  the flavor is not all that special for me to bake these often.

 

11 thoughts on “Popovers for breakfast

  1. Nothing beats Turkish breakfast table :) Popovers are great with our type of breakfast items.. They reminded me the taste of fried doughs called pisi.. Sence?

  2. Lovely molds – they gave your popovers such a wonderful shape. I love the look of your breakfast table, too. So much beautiful, fresh food.

Leave a comment